1881 Work commenced on the Railway to Harbour Grace on August 9 and at the end of the working season, Twenty miles were graded,
and ten miles metalled.
1881 The first steam locomotive for the Harbour Grace line arrived in St. John's by the S.S. Merlin on December 5.
1884 On Saturday , October 4, the line to Harbour Grace via Whitbourne was completed. It was known as the Harbour Grace
1884 on November 1 - The Harbour Grace Railway, the first railway on Newfoundland, is opened for traffic between St. Johns
and Harbour Grace. The last spike was driven by Prince George,
1884 One week later on Saturday, October 11 the Harbour Grace Branch of the Newfoundland Railway was officially opened.
1912 Harbour Grace train reached St. John's February 29, after having been 13 days getting around the bay through the
heavy snow drifts.
1982 On February 15, Canadian National Railway applied to the Canadian Transport Commission on behalf of Terra Transport
to remove the agent and station building at Harbour Grace.
On September 20, 1984, the last train left Harbour Grace for St. John's . The train was headed by a pair of G.M. 875 H.P.,
Road Switchers, Nos.804 and 800. The crews were....Jerry Maddigan, Engineer, Gordon Smith, Conductor, Tom Carew, Gerry McGinnis
and Job Blackmore, Trainmen.
The Harbour Grace line originally went from Whitbourne to Broad Cove Junction at the bottom of Trinity Bay and then across
the barrens to Tilton and Conception Bay. The 13 miles of track between Broad Cove Junction and Tilton, known as the Tilton
branch, were taken up in 1915-16.